Staying in Monaco

Last updated: 03/03/2023

Foreign nationals wishing to stay in the Principality for less than three months require a passport, and in some cases a visa – which are necessary to enter French territory.

Nationals of the European Economic Area

Nationals of the European Economic Area and associated States do not require a visa to enter Monegasque territory. They only need to carry a passport or a valid identity card.

The European Economic Area and associated States: Germany, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Spain (including the Balearic and Canary Islands), Estonia, Vatican City, France (Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Réunion), Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (including the archipelagos of Madeira and the Azores), Czech Republic, Romania, United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Gibraltar), San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland.

Nationals of countries outside the European Economic Area

Nationals of countries outside the European Economic Area wishing to visit the Principality of Monaco must be in possession of a valid passport and a visa for the Schengen area.

Consequently, requests for visas to enter Monegasque territory must be made to the Embassy of the country of the Schengen Area that will be the entry point for a stay in Europe. Once a Schengen visa has been obtained, a visit to the Principality can be made with no additional formalities.

For stays of less than 90 days, some nationalities are exempt from the requirement to have a visa to enter the Schengen area.

You can consult the list of nationalites that are exempt from the visa requirement on the French Public Service web site ( – a list of member countries of the Schengen Area can also be consulted at this address.